2 months down, only 3 months to go (mimimi) - Reisverslag uit Grabouw, Zuid-Afrika van Ilse Schilderinck - WaarBenJij.nu 2 months down, only 3 months to go (mimimi) - Reisverslag uit Grabouw, Zuid-Afrika van Ilse Schilderinck - WaarBenJij.nu

2 months down, only 3 months to go (mimimi)

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ilse

12 April 2017 | Zuid-Afrika, Grabouw

12-04-2017

Dear readers,

This is my fourth blog! I’ve plenty of time to write this because it is a grey and rainy day today and concentration to work on our thesis is nowhere to be found. The weather is a little bit colder than the weeks before this week, because here it is autumn now. The temperature has dropped to twenty degrees today (and it feels like ten), but this is Africa, so in a few days it will be thirty degrees again.
At the moment I have two weeks ‘vacation’, because there are school holidays. Roxane and I work very hard on our thesis (almost) every day, because we’ve planned to finish it before May.
Besides writing a thesis, I have done a lot of other things. Two weeks ago, Roxane and I went to the University of Western Cape, so that we could see what it is like to study Nutrition and Dietetics in South Africa..
The weekend after that, I went to Muizenberg with a group of students. Muizenberg is known for its beautiful beach and the surfing. So guess what I did the next day?! YES I surfed. Another thing that I can add to my ‘things I have never done before’-list. But it was awesome! After that, we drove back to Grabouw, because the next day my parents came to visit me. Yes, you read that well ;) My parents, who have never been further away than The Netherlands and Belgium, and Portugal last year, came all the way to South Africa. I showed them the houses we live in and then at the end of the day we went to Cape Town. On Monday, we drove the Cape of Good Hope route. I showed them Muizenberg and Boulders Beach, the penguin beach, and Cape Point and Cape of Good Hope. On Tuesday, we went to V&A Waterfront and Stellenbosch. It was nice to see them again and I’m very happy that they enjoy Africa just as much as I do. Although, driving on the left side of the road and talking English all day is quite a challenge for them..
Last weekend, I went to The Old Biscuit Mill, a place with a lot of shops, food and places to relax. Also, the weather was nice, so we enjoyed the sun and the music while lying on the grass. After I ate until I almost got nauseas, we went to Cape Town stadium to watch a rugby game. Our ‘daddy’ invited us for a mini-braai before the game, so we went to a large car park. There were hundreds of cars, all with the car trunk open and everybody was eating and drinking. That was the moment when I realised (again) how big the importance of food is here. Then the moment was there: the game. I didn’t know what to expect, because, honestly, rugby on TV is sooo boring and I didn’t even know what the rules of this game were. But now that I’ve experienced a game I can tell that rugby is more fun to watch than soccer. The ambience is way better and the sport is actually really nice to watch (in real life at least). Guess what we did after the game?! Yes, we braaied, again.

As I told in the beginning of my blog, all days of the week are about our thesis… not very interesting haha. But I’ll give you a sneak preview of the upcoming weeks, because that quite interesting! This weekend we will climb Lion’s Head with a big part of our group, but we will climb it in the middle of the night, so we can watch the sun rise in the morning at 6 AM!! Furthermore, Fate of the furious is also coming out this weekend so I hope to see that too! The next adventure is planned on Monday when we might go zip lining. Then duty calls; a few days of thesis writing and then we go on our well-deserved mini-vacation for four days and what we might do then I keep a secret for now. You will read it in my next blog!

You will hear from me again soon! And if you can’t wait, feel free to WhatsApp, snap or whatever!

  • 15 April 2017 - 09:36

    Hedwig:

    Ilse wat een mooi verslag wederom! Fijn dat je ook met je ouders zo genoten hebt. Ik ben benieuwd naar je verslag, en misschien moet ik op Facebook eens weer naar je foto's kijken, wie weet nieuwe?!
    Groetjes en ... een hele fijne tijd!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ilse

Actief sinds 09 Feb. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 307
Totaal aantal bezoekers 85324

Voorgaande reizen:

12 Februari 2017 - 16 Juli 2017

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: